Appointment of Scott L. Waugh as Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Faculty and Staff

His appointment follows a rigorous and comprehensive national search.

It gives me great pleasure to announce that I have selected Scott L. Waugh as executive vice chancellor and provost, effective December 1, 2008, pending the approval of his appointment by the UC Regents. Scott’s appointment follows a rigorous and comprehensive national search, during which he rose to the top of a pool of highly distinguished candidates.

Since January 2007, Scott has served as acting executive vice chancellor and provost, demonstrating his ability to provide strategic academic leadership across the university. He has shown dedication to the mission and ideals of UCLA and commitment to academic excellence, interdisciplinary collaboration, diversity and community engagement.

Scott has been a part of the Bruin family through four decades – as an honor student, a distinguished scholar, an award-winning teacher and a highly regarded dean, prior to his appointment as acting executive vice chancellor and provost. From 1992 to 2007, Scott’s leadership of the Division of Social Sciences enhanced the outstanding quality of the division’s programs, many of them nationally ranked. Scott also chaired the Department of History, as well as the Council on Educational Development.

Scott’s many honors and fellowships include two grants from the National Endowment for the Humanities, the UC President’s Fellowship in the Humanities, the UCLA Distinguished Teaching Award and a UCLA Faculty Development Award.

Scott graduated summa cum laude from UCLA in 1970 with a bachelor of arts degree in history and received his Ph.D. in English history from the University of London in 1975. That same year, he began teaching in the UCLA Department of History, as a scholar of medieval history.

I have worked closely with Scott since before my arrival at UCLA, and I have observed firsthand his competence, thoughtfulness and true devotion to this university. I have immensely enjoyed working with him and am delighted that he will continue to occupy the office next to mine.

I want to express my sincere appreciation to the members of the search committee, who brought enormous expertise, sensitivity and responsibility to the search: Norman Abrams, David Feinberg, Andrea Ghez, Luisa Iruela-Arispe, David B. Kaplan, Adrienne Lavine, Elinor Ochs, Steven Olsen, Eduardo Schwartz, M. Belinda Tucker, Rhea Turteltaub, Christopher Waterman and Harold Williams. We are also grateful to search consultant Alberto Pimentel and his colleagues at Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates.

Please join me in congratulating Scott and in welcoming him to his new permanent position.